Book Prize

Application Form

The 2021 application will be available in February 2021 and the application deadline will be in June 2021.

The 2021 Aidoo-Snyder scholarly book prize will be given for the best original scholarly work written by a woman (or women) that prioritizes African women’s experience. To this end, the committee invites nominations from publishers or authors. Self-published books are not eligible, and entries may only be submitted for consideration once. The prize is open to authors who have published books in English and English translation in the two years preceding the award year. The books must significantly deal with Africa (including Cape Verde, and the Islands off the West Coast of Africa; Madagascar; and the Indian Ocean Islands of the East African Coast).

2020 Committee Members

Dr. Joya Uraizee, Chair

Department of English

Saint Louis University

Dr. Louisa Egbunike

Department of English

University of London

Dr. Tomi Adeaga

Department of African Studies

University of Vienna

Designed by: